Cabinet signs off on Seanad reform to allow all university graduates to vote in elections

Supreme Court recently found that it was unconstitutional to only allow graduates of certain universities to vote in Seanad elections

Around six of the 60 Seanad seats are voted in by graduates of Trinity College, UCC, University of Galway, Maynooth University, UCC and UCD. Graduates of newer universities like UL, DCU and TU Dublin are excluded, as well as graduates of ITs. Picture: Getty

Cabinet has approved plans for Seanad reform today, which will see voting for university seats extended to all Irish graduates.

Darragh O’Brien, the Minister for ...