Fianna Fáil’s ‘Committee of 15’ returns

22nd April, 2015

Fianna Fáil is reducing the number of party members who can be elected to its national executive, in another move away from Bertie Ahern’s legacy.

The party founder Eamon de Valera had put in place a ‘Committee of 15’ election, which allowed 15 party members to be elected to the party’s key governing body, the national executive.

But during former taoiseach Bertie Ahern’s leadership, the number of members of...

Subscribe from just €1 for the first month!

Exclusive offers:

All Digital Access + eReader



Unlimited Access for 1 Month

Get basic

*New subscribers only

You can cancel any time.



€149 For the 1st Year

Unlimited Access for 1 Year

You can cancel any time.




90 Day Pass

You can cancel any time.

2 Yearly



Unlimited Access for 2 Years

You can cancel any time.

Team Pass

Get a Business Account for you and your team

Share this post

Related Stories

Proposal for expert panel to review capital projects over €100m

State body to reissue €28m office supplies contract

Sinn Féin open to coalition deal, but on condition of border poll

Fine Gael ‘will go to war’ if Bailey runs as independent