Cathal McBride: Matching fruit and vegetables comes naturally to vegan wines

Whether you’re looking to partner salads and light dishes or hearty vegetarian roasts, there’s a vegan wine for every occasion

Plunging the grapes cap to extract colour: the surest way of knowing if a wine is vegan-friendly is by looking for the certified vegan label on the bottle. Picture: Getty

Whether you’re participating in Veganuary or simply looking to incorporate more vegetables into your diet after the excesses of Christmas, it’s never any harm to consider vegan wines. These can cause some confusion among consumers, given that wine is essentially made from fermented grapes. So it’s only natural to ask: are all wines not vegan?

While this is mostly true, it’s complicated by the filtration process that many (but not all) wines go through after ...