Sweden 2019: Harking back to Hanseatic times

Sweden 2019: Harking back to Hanseatic times

The EU needs as many ‘groups within the group’ as possible to help secure its project, and Sweden and Ireland are at the heart of a new alliance

The New Hanseatic League is an informal alliance of EU countries, a club within a club, to defend regional interests and economic priorities. It comprises eight countries – the Netherlands, Sweden, Finland, Denmark, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Ireland. Stronger together, perhaps. But how strong?

Its formation echoes the ideas behind the original Hanseatic League, an alliance of cities in northern Europe which formed around the 12th century and flourished for the best part of 300 years....

Subscribe from just 1€

Exclusive offers

Choose the subscription that is right for you

Monthly Subscription


For the first month

€19.99 Monthly Thereafter

Subscribe today

Cancel anytime

Annual Subscription


For the first year

€199.99 annually thereafter

Subscribe today

Cancel anytime

Quarterly Subscription


For the first 90 days

€55.00 quarterly Thereafter

Subscribe today

Cancel anytime

These offers are not available for current subscribers. Offers and pricing are subject to change without notice.

Terms & Conditions Apply

Please Subscribe or Log in to continue

Subscribe Login

Related Articles

More from The Business Post