Monday August 3, 2020

Sweden 2019: Harking back to Hanseatic times

The EU needs as many ‘groups within the group’ as possible to help secure its project, and Sweden and Ireland are at the heart of a new alliance

2nd June, 2019

The New Hanseatic League is an informal alliance of EU countries, a club within a club, to defend regional interests and economic priorities. It comprises eight countries – the Netherlands, Sweden, Finland, Denmark, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Ireland. Stronger together, perhaps. But how strong?

Its formation echoes the ideas behind the original Hanseatic League, an alliance of cities in northern Europe which formed around the 12th century and flourished for the best part of 300...

Subscribe from just €1 for the first month!

Exclusive offers:

All Digital Access + eReader



Unlimited Access for 1 Month

Then €19.99 a month after the offer period.

Get basic
*New subscribers only
You can cancel any time.



€149 For the 1st Year

Unlimited Access for 1 Year

You can cancel any time.




90 Day Pass

You can cancel any time.

2 Yearly



Unlimited Access for 2 Years

This product does not auto-renew

Team Pass

Get a Business Account for you and your team

Related Stories

Bord Gáis Energy has launched an innovative new approach to energy management

Business Post | 1 day ago

A bird’s-eye view of some of Ireland’s most desirable four and five-star hotel destinations

Post Reporter | 1 week ago